School Term Dates

NEW ZEALAND SCHOOL TERMS & HOLIDAYS

Some homeschooling families choose to work in line with the school terms.
However your schooling day, week, term, or year, can be formatted they way you choose (to suit your family, your educational choices, your life-style) as long as your children are educated “as regularly and well as in a registered school” as stated by the Ministry of Education.

If you are new to home education and want some helpful tips or advice, we recommend you visit NCHENZ. They explain everything you need to know, from getting started, curriculum choices, home educating styles, to what does a typical day of homeschooling look like.

There are many local support groups, local email-loops, forums and online groups, and support organisations throughout New Zealand to assist you with your journey.


2020 school terms and holidays

 START DATEEND DATE HOLIDAYS    
Term 1 – 11 weeksBetween Monday 27 January
(at the earliest);
and Friday 7 February (at the latest)
Thursday 9 April (90-106 half days)Public holidays: Waitangi Day.School holiday: Saturday 11 April – Sunday 26 April (includes Easter, Easter Tuesday and ANZAC day).
Term 2 – 10 weeksTuesday 28  AprilFriday 3 July (96 half days)Public holiday: ANZAC (observed) 27 April, Queen’s Birthday 1 JuneSchool holiday: Saturday 4 July – Sunday 19 July
Term 3 – 10 weeksMonday 20 JulyFriday 25 September (100 half days)School holidays: Saturday 26 September – Sunday 11 October
Term 4 – up to 10 weeksMonday 12 OctoberPrimary, intermediate and special schools: 
No later than Friday 18 December (98 half days)*Secondary and composite: 
No later than Wednesday 16 December (94 half days)**
Public holidays: Labour Day, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year’s DaySchool holiday: 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 384 half days in 2020. 
** Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half days in 2020.


2021 school terms and holidays

 START DATEEND DATEHOLIDAYS
Term 1 – Between 10-11 weeksBetween Monday 1 February (at the earliest); and Tuesday 9 February (at the latest)Friday 16 April
(92-102 half-days)
Public holidays: Waitangi Day 6 February, Easter: Good Friday 2 April, Easter Monday 5 April
and Easter Tuesday 6 April (a school holiday) School holiday: Saturday 17 April – Sunday 2 May (includes ANZAC day 25 April).
Term 2 – 10 weeksMonday 3 MayFriday 9 July (98 half-days)Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday 7 June School holiday: Saturday 10 July – Sunday 25 July
Term 3 – 10 weeksMonday 26 JulyFriday 1 October (100 half-days)School holidays: Saturday 2 October – Sunday 17 October
Term 4 – up to 10 weeksMonday 18 OctoberAll schools no later than Monday 20 December (80-90 half-days) *Public holidays: Labour Day 25 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year’s Day School holiday: 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for a minimum of 380 half-days in 2021.


2022 school terms and holidays

 START DATEEND DATEHOLIDAYS
Term 1 – Between 10-11 weeksBetween Monday 31 January (at the earliest); and
Tuesday 8 February (at the latest)
Thursday 14 April
(96-106 half-days)
Public holidays: Waitangi Day (observed) Monday 7 FebruaryEaster: Good Friday 15 AprilSchool holidays: Saturday 16 April – Sunday 1 May (includes Easter Monday 18 April, Easter Tuesday 19 April (a school holiday), and ANZAC day Monday 25 April)
Term 2 – 10 weeksMonday 2 MayFriday 8 July (98 half-days)Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday 6 JuneSchool holidays: Saturday 9 July – Sunday 24 July
Term 3 – 10 weeksMonday 25 JulyFriday 30 September (100 half-days)School holidays: Saturday 1 October – Sunday 16 October
Term 4 – up to 10 weeksMonday 17 OctoberNo later than Tuesday 20 December (92 half-days)*Public holidays: Labour Day Monday 24 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year’s Day

* For primary, intermediate and special schools: or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for a minimum of 386 half-days in 2022.

For secondary and composite schools: or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half-days in 2022.

These dates & other information can be viewed at:
https://www.education.govt.nz/school/school-terms-and-holidays/

%d bloggers like this: